Expenses

NOTE: The fees provided below are for the 2017-2018 academic year.  The Nonresident Undergraduate  and the Nonresident Graduate rates have not been updated by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board at the time of publishing and may change.  The tuition/fee information below is an estimate and is subject to change based on Board action and Legislative requirements.

2017-2018 Regular Session Fees

Fall and Spring Semesters

Tuition Fee (see Note) (required)

Fee Type Amount
UNDERGRADUATE GUARANTEED RATE
Texas Resident – Undergraduate (1) $167.07 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Business $27.14 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Liberal and Fine Arts $2.52 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences $13.06 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Education $2.90 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Science and Technology $13.06 per hour
Differential Tuition - Criminology $28.49 per hour
Differential Tuition - Nursing/Health Sciences $47.77 per hour
Differential Tuition - Engineering $59.54 per hour
UNDERGRADUATE VARIABLE RATE
Texas Resident - Undergraduate (1) $158.34 per hour
Nonresident Undergraduate(1) $573.34 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Business $26.21 per hour
Differential Tuition – College of Liberal and Fine Arts $2.44 per hour
Differential Tuition – College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences $12.62 per hour
Differential Tuition – College of Education $2.80 per hour
Differential Tuition – College of Science and Technology $12.62 per hour
Differential Tuition - Criminology $27.53 per hour
Differential Tuition – Nursing/Health Sciences $46.15 per hour
Differential Tuition – Engineering $57.52 per hour
GRADUATE RATE
Texas Resident – Graduate(1) $209.71 per hour
Nonresident Graduate(1) $624.71 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Business Administration $24.06 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Liberal and Fine Arts $2.44 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences $12.62 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Education $2.80 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Science and Technology $12.62 per hour
Differential Tuition -Criminology $2.44 per hour
Differential Tutition - Nursing/Health Sciences $46.15 per hour
Differential Tuition - Engineering $46.15 per hour
Fee Type Amount
University Services Fee - Undergraduate $88.95 per hour
University Services Fee - Graduate $115.18 per hour
Health Service Fee (required-Stephenville) $4.91 per hour
Excessive Hours Fee $100.00 per hour
Intercollegiate Athletics Fee (required-Stephenville) $22.00 per hour with $286.00 max.
Parking Fee (optional) $85.00 per year
Recreational Sports Fee (Required Stephenville) $100 per semester
Repeated Courses Fee $100.00 per hour
Room Application Fee (required, nonrefundable, residence hall students)(2) $100.00
Student Center Facility Fee (required, Stephenville) $3.96 per hour with $39.60 maximum

2018 Summer Session Fees

Tuition Fee (see Note) (required)

Fee Type Amount
GUARANTEED RATE
Texas Resident – Undergraduate -(1) $167.07 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Business Administration $27.14 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Liberal and Fine Arts $2.52 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences $13.06 per hour
Differential Tuition – College of Education $2.90 per hour
Differential Tuition – College of Science and Technology $13.06 per hour
Differential Tuition - Criminology $28.49 per hour
Differential Tuition – Nursing/Health Sciences $47.77 per hour
Differential Tuition - Engineering $59.54 per hour
VARIABLE RATE
Texas Resident - Undergradute (1) $158.34 per hour
Nonresident – Undergraduate(1) $573.34 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Business $26.21 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Liberal and Fine Arts $2.44 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Agricultural and Environmental $12.62 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Education $2.80 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Science and Technology $12.62 per hour
Differential Tuition - Criminology $27.53 per hour
Differential Tuition - Nursing/Health Sciences $46.15 per hour
Differential Tuition - Engineering $57.52 per hour
GRADUATE RATE
Texas Resident $209.71 per hour
Nonresident – Graduate(1) $624.71 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Business $24.06 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Liberal and Fine Arts $2.44 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences $12.62 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Education $2.80 per hour
Differential Tuition - College of Science of Technology $12.62 per hour
Differential Tuition- Criminology $2.44 per hour
Differential Tuition - Nursing/Health Sciences $46.15 per hour
Differential Tuition - Engineering $46.15 per hour
Fee Type Amount
University Services Fee - Undergraduate $88.95 per hour
University Services Fee - Graduate $115.18 per hour
Excessive Hours Fee $100.00 per hour
Health Service Fee (required-Stephenville) $4.91 per hour
Intercollegiate Athletics Fee (required-Stephenville) $22.00 per hour with $286.00 max
Parking Fee (optional) $20.00 - Summer only
Recreational Sports Fee (Required Stephenville) $50.00 - Summer
Repeated Courses Fee $100.00 per hour
Room Application Fee (required, nonrefundable, residence hall students) (2) $100.00
Student Center Facility Fee (required, Stephenville) $3.96 per hour with $19.80
1

The selection option for Guaranteed or Variable Tuition Rate applies to Texas Residents, New Incoming and Transfer students.

Undergraduate Variable Tuition Rate will be assigned to Nonresident (Texas) and  International students.  Students who are nonresident will be assigned the Out of State Tuition Rate of $573.34 per hour.  Nonresident rates have not been updated by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board as of publishing date.

Graduates Tuition Rate will be assigned to Texas Resident Graduate students.  Graduate students who are nonresident will be assigned the Out of State Tuition Rate of $624.71 per hour.  Nonresident rates have not been updated by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board as of publishing date.

2

For students who have not paid the application fee

Explanation of Fees

Please Note: The following fees are required of all students, regardless of classification (undergraduate or graduate) or type of housing (on- or off-campus) with the exception of fees designated by campus: Tuition, University Services, Student Center Facility (Stephenville),  Health Service (Stephenville), Intercollegiate Athletics (Stephenville), Recreational Sports Fee (Stephenville).

The following are payable on an installment basis in the regular semesters.
  • GUARANTEED TUITION FEE   for Texas resident undergraduate students is $167.07 per semester credit hour. The selection option for this rate applies to New Incoming and Transfer Texas Resident Students only.
  • VARIABLE TUITION FEE  for Texas resident undergraduates students is $158.34 per semester credit hour. The Variable Tuition Rate will be automatically assigned for non-resident of Texas, including those who are not U.S. citizens, and Graduate students.  The tuition rate is $573.34 for Undergraduate and $624.71 for Graduate per semester credit hour. See “Determination of Residence for Tuition Purposes” in this section for more information.
  • UNIVERSITY SERVICES FEE. for Undergraduates is $88.95 and 115.18 for Graduate, is assessed by semester credit hour and funds services such as advising, student services, technology, library, distance education and outreach programs as well as other administrative services such as ID services and records services.
  • DIFFERENTIAL TUITION.  This fee is assessed by semester credit hour to courses under the following College and/or Department and is used to enhance the academic programs under the College and/or Department.  If a student is taking a class in Criminology, Nursing/Health Science, and Engineering will receive an additional Differential Tuition charge per hour in addition to the College and/or Department Differential Tuition Fee.
  • EXCESSIVE HOURS FEE. This fee of $100 per semester credit hour is charged to students with excessive semester credit hours towards a degree program. Reference Texas Education code § 54.014 which provides a limit on the number of hours an undergraduate Texas resident may attempt while paying in-state tuition. For more information, please visit www.tarleton.edu/registrar.
  • HEALTH SERVICE FEE. This fee of $4.91 per semester credit hour is used to cover costs of the Student Health Center. This fee is assessed on Stephenville courses.
  • INTERCOLLEGIATE ATHLETICS FEE. This fee of $22 per semester credit hour, with a $286 maximum per semester, is used to support intercollegiate athletics at Tarleton State University. This fee is assessed on Stephenville courses.
  • INSTALLMENT FEE. The Texas Education Code includes a provision for students to pay tuition and certain designated fees for the fall and spring semesters on an installment basis. Students may elect to pay in full or in four installments. Students who elect to pay on the installment plan will be charged an installment fee of $20 per semester and will be required to sign an installment agreement.
  • LABORATORY FEE. A fee of not less than $2 and not more than $30 for each laboratory course may be charged for materials and supplies.
  • LATE REGISTRATION FEE. Students who do not register or make an initial payment on days set aside for that purpose will pay a late fee of $25.
  • LATE PAYMENT FEE. Students not making an installment payment by the due date will be charged a late payment fee of $10. Students who are delinquent more than five days may be prohibited from registering for classes and may be blocked from all University services.
  • PARKING FEE. Students who wish to park a vehicle on any part of Tarleton property will pay a parking fee of $85 for Fall semester start; $40 for Spring semester start and $20 for Summer only.
  • RECREATIONAL SPORTS FEE. This fee of $100 per regular semester and $50 per summer semester is used to fund debt service requirements and operational costs of the facility. This fee is assessed to the Stephenville Campus only.
  • REPEATED COURSES FEE (3-PEAT). This additional course fee will be charged at a rate of $100 per semester credit hour to those students who have attempted the same course for a third time since Fall 2002. This provision is described in the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board Rules (Chapter 13, Subchapter B, §13.25). For additional information please visit www.tarleton.edu/registrar.

ROOM & MEALS FEES. All students living in the residence halls are required to pay for meals, in addition to room-rent fees. Meals are provided in modified cafeteria style during specific meal hours. Evening meals will not be served on days preceding holidays and end of semester or summer sessions. Room and meal rates and meal times are published in pamphlets available

Payment of Fees

All of the aforementioned fees must be paid by a designated date, which is stated on the student’s bill. Student account information is available through Texan Bill Pay. Services offered include: 24/7 access, E-bills, On-line Payment Plan enrollment, and Authorized User access. Payment due dates are also displayed via DuckTrax at www.tarleton.edu and on Business Services web page at www.tarleton.edu/business. The following options are available for fee payment in regular semesters:

  • OPTION 1. Payment in full by the designated date.
  • OPTION 2. Payment in four installments as follows:
    • Installment 1: 25% of Note 1 fees and all of Note 2 fees by designated date;
    • Installment 2: 25% of Note 1 fees prior to the start of the 4th class week;
    • Installment 3: 25% of Note 1 fees prior to the start of the 8th class week.
    • Installment 4: 25% of Note 1 fees prior to the start of the 12th class week

Each student who elects option 2 must enroll in the Payment Plan through Texan Bill Pay. An installment agreement must be on file in the Business Services Office. Students who fail to make tuition and fees payment by the due date may be prohibited from registering for classes for a succeeding semester until payment is made. Moreover, nonpayment prior to the end of the semester means the student may be denied credit for the work done that semester.

For short sessions, payment in full is due by the designated date.

Refunds

Students who have paid fees in full and withdraw from the University will receive refunds for tuition, student services fee, academic advising & support fee, computer processing fee, health service fee, endowment scholarship fee, student center facility fee, excessive hours fee, international education fee, instructional equipment fee, records fee, off-campus course fee, intercollegiate athletics fee, international student program fee, distance education degree program course fee, library access fee, recreational sports fee, repeated courses fee, field assignment fee, agricultural facilities fee, and laboratory fees. Students paying on an installment basis and who withdraw from the University will be required to pay the balance of fees due. The refund schedule is as follows:

Session Length 10 Weeks or Greater
Session Percentage
Prior to first class day 100%
During first five class days 80%
During second five class days 70%
During third five class days 50%
During fourth five class days 25%
After fourth five class days 0%
Session Length Greater than 5 Weeks and Less than 10 weeks
Session Percentage
Prior to 1st class day 100%
During first, second, or third class day 80%
During fourth, fifth, or sixth class day 50%
After sixth class day 0%
Session Length 5 Weeks or Less
Session Percentage
Prior to 1st class day 100%
During first class day 80%
During second class day 50%
After second class day 0%
Withdrawing From All Courses at the University

Effective Withdrawal Date is the date the withdrawal is reported to and recorded in the Registrar’s Office.

Dropped Classes

(Student remains enrolled in one or more courses at the University.) Effective Drop Date is the date the drop is recorded in the Registrar’s Office.

  1. If a course is dropped on or before the census date for the appropriate session, the student will be refunded for the tuition and fees associated with that course.
  2. If a course is dropped after the appropriate census date, the student will not receive a refund.

Census dates for various length sessions are as follows:

  • 3 week session 2nd class day
  • 4 or 5 week session 4th class day
  • 6, 7, or 8 week session 6th class day
  • 9, 10, or 11 week session 7th class day
  • 12,13, or 14 week session 9th class day
  • 15 or more week session 12th class day

Special notes: For refund purposes, class days are determined by the calendar, not by the number of class meetings. As an example, if a semester starts on Monday, Thursday of that week is considered the 4th class day for all classes.

Those fees paid by Tuition Assistance or another third party receivable will be refunded to the military or other organization if a refund is due.

Tarleton’s refund policy is in accordance with mandates of the state of Texas.

Conditions of Refunds

Refunds of tuition and fees will not be made until 10 days have elapsed from the date the fees were paid. Refunds of tuition and fees paid by a sponsor, donor, scholarship or by credit card will be made to the source rather than directly to the student who has withdrawn if the funds were made available through the University. All student services and privileges shall terminate when a student withdraws or graduates from the University.

Nonrefundable Fees

Fees required for special courses, parking, installment plan fee, reinstatement and late registration fee are non-refundable.

Room Rent and Meal Fees

Refunds to students withdrawing prior to the first class day will be based on a daily proration. Refunds to students withdrawing on or after the first class day will be based on a daily proration, less an early withdrawal fee equaling 10 percent of the semester room/meal rate. The effective date of withdrawal will be the date written notification is provided to the Registrar’s Office.

Texan Bucks

This is an optional debit plan that allows students to use their Texan Card to make purchases both on and off campus. Accounts are opened through the Texan Card Office with an initial deposit of $20.00. Cash withdrawals are not allowed.

Balances on dormant accounts: Accounts having a remaining balance on the earlier of either the third anniversary of the date issued if not used, or the third anniversary of the card’s last use must be remitted to the state.

Miscellaneous Fees

Reinstatement Fee

A student who has been dropped from the rolls of the University and has been approved for reinstatement will be charged a fee of $100.

Unpaid Check (Returned Check)

If a check accepted by the University is returned unpaid by the bank on which it is drawn, the person presenting it will be required to pay a penalty of $30. If a check that is accepted by the University and processed by ACH (automated clearing house) or by eCheck (Electronic check through Texan Bill Pay), is returned unpaid by the bank on which it is drawn, the student account to which the original payment was applied will be charged a penalty of $30.00 in addition to the amount of the returned item. The student registration and transcript records will be placed on hold. If the check is not redeemed within 20 days after the date of the certified notice of return, the student may be dropped from the rolls of the University and the check turned over to the County Attorney for collection.

Questions regarding fees and refunds should be directed to the Tarleton State University Business Office: (254) 968-9107.

Determination of Residence for Tuition Purposes

Residency status is based on information obtained from the student’s application for admission. It is the student’s responsibility to answer all questions on the application for admission accurately and honestly. If a current student believes that residency status has changed, it is the student’s responsibility to report this to the Admissions Office. If a new student/applicant believes that residency status is incorrect, please contact the Admissions Office.

To be a Texas resident, a student must have resided in Texas for twelve consecutive months or more and establish a domicile in Texas PRIOR to the semester of enrollment.

Additional documentation may be required to establish Texas residency. Residency rules are subject to change at any time due to Texas legislation.

The student has the burden of proof to show by clear and convincing evidence that residence or domicile, as appropriate, has been established and maintained according to the rules.

  1. The 36 Month Provision. An individual who resided in Texas for the 36 consecutive months leading up to his/her graduation from a Texas high school or receipt of a GED, and continued to maintain a residence in Texas for the 12 months leading up to his/her enrollment in an institution of higher education may be classified as a resident for tuition purposes, regardless of dependency or immigration status. Any individual wishing to qualify under this provision who is not a U.S. citizen or Permanent Resident of the United States must complete and submit an Affidavit of Intent to Become a Permanent Resident to the Admissions Office in addition to the Core Residency Questions.

Students who do not meet the criteria of the 36 Month Provision may qualify for residency according to one of the following:

  1. Independent Students. Independent students are those who provide more than half of their own financial support and are not eligible to be claimed as a dependent for income tax purposes. In order to qualify for residency for tuition purposes, an independent student must reside in Texas while doing one of the following for the twelve consecutive months preceding the student/applicant’s enrollment:
    1. Own a home in Texas;
    2. Own a business in Texas;
    3. Be professionally licensed to practice or conduct business in the State of Texas;
    4. Be gainfully employed in a position not related to student status. Student worker positions, internships, and graduate assistantships may not be used as a basis for establishing residency in Texas; or
    5. Be married to a Texas resident.
  2. Dependent Students. The residency for tuition purposes of a student who is not independent is based upon that of the parent or court-appointed legal guardian who claims that student as a dependent or provides more than half that student’s financial support, regardless of the length of time the student has resided in Texas. If the parent or court-appointed legal guardian of a dependent student meets the criteria of having established residency for tuition purposes, the dependent student is eligible to pay resident tuition. Parents and legal guardians qualify for residency following the same criteria as independent students.
  3. Military personnel and dependents of military personnel. Resident military personnel and their dependents are classified as residents, provided they maintain Texas as the Official Home of Record with the military service. Nonresident military personnel must submit certification of active duty in Texas at each registration to be eligible for resident tuition rates. The Office of Undergraduate Admissions must be contacted for an Active Duty Military/Dependent Certification Form. The spouse or child of a member of the Armed Forces of the United States who has been assigned to duty elsewhere immediately following assignment to duty in Texas is entitled to pay the tuition fees and other fees or charges provided for Texas residents as long as the spouse or child resides continuously in Texas. Nonresident military personnel who have separated or retired from military service while stationed in Texas and who intend to remain in Texas may be classified as residents provided certain actions are taken by the soldier one year prior to enrollment. Please contact the Admissions Office for information.
  4. International Students. International students/applicants who are eligible to establish a domicile in Texas may also qualify for Texas resident status. Please contact the Admissions Office for further information.
  5. Residency Reclassification. A student classified as a non-resident retains that classification until he/she requests reclassification in writing and provides proof of residence to the Admissions Office. An Application for Reclassification can be found on the Admissions website or requested from the Admissions Office. Applications for reclassification must be submitted prior to the official census date of the relevant term. The student has the burden of proof to show by clear and convincing evidence that residence or domicile, as appropriate, has been established and maintained according to the rules.
  6. Residency Forms. Forms for residency can be found on the admissions website or by contacting the Admissions Office at 254-968-9752.