Tarleton State University Fort Worth

Fort Worth, Granbury, Weatherford & Cleburne, Texas

Tarleton State University – Fort Worth, an outreach center of Tarleton State University, has operated programs serving the needs of Tarrant, Johnson and Parker Counties for 40 years. Initial programs started in 1978 in the area of Medical Laboratory Sciences, providing critically needed health care professionals for the rapidly growing Metroplex. Those programs were followed by cooperative programs with the Fort Worth ISD to offer alternative teacher certification programs to meet the growing demands for teachers in 2000. Since that time, Tarleton has expanded program offerings at this location, to include a variety of programs in Education, Kinesiology, Counseling, Business, Accounting, Marketing, Human Resources Management, Psychology, Industrial Engineering, Social Work, Nursing, Communications, and Criminal Justice. Programs include a doctoral program, master’s level course work, and junior/senior level courses for baccalaureate degree completion. Baccalaureate degree completion programs are designed to build upon associate programs offered by Tarrant Community College District, Weatherford College and Hill College-Johnson County.

Students enrolling at Tarleton State University– Fort Worth may choose courses and entire programs offered via a variety of delivery modes including face-to-face, blended/hybrid, or on-line. Some programs may be offered in a wholly on-line format, some blended and some face-to-face, while others are offered in a cohort model. Consult the individual program listings for the type of delivery modes available for each program offered through Tarleton State University-Fort Worth.

Tarleton State University- Fort Worth has a diverse student population comprised mostly of working adults seeking master’s degrees and community college graduates or returning students seeking baccalaureate completion degrees. Classes are offered in the evenings, days, and weekends to accommodate both part-time and full-time students. Advisors and support staff are available to assist with admission, financial aid, and degree plans.

Administrative offices for Tarleton State University- Fort Worth are located at the Hickman Building, 6777 Camp Bowie Boulevard, Fort Worth, Texas. Classrooms are located in Tarleton operated facilities at the Hickman Building in Fort Worth, the R.C. Schaffer Building in Fort Worth, and the Dora Lee Langdon Center in Granbury. In addition, classrooms may be utilized at Weatherford College in Weatherford, Hill College in Cleburne, Tarrant County College in Fort Worth and Arlington, and Luella Merritt School-FWISD in Fort Worth.

Thanks to the donation of 80 acres by the Walton Group of Companies, a new, permanent home for Tarleton-Fort Worth along the Chisholm Trail Parkway is under construction. We expect to open the doors of our first building, a 76,000 square foot multipurpose academic facility, in fall 2019.  Visit Tarleton's home page for more information on our new campus and associated construction progress.

Twelve graduate level degree programs (1 doctoral and 11 master’s), twenty-five undergraduate degree programs and nine certification options are available through our Fort Worth outreach center at one or more of our classroom locations.

Graduate Programs include:

  • Doctor of Education, Educational Leadership
  • Master of Accounting (Pending approvals of the Texas A&M University System and Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board)
  • Master of Arts, Communication Studies
  • Master of Business Administration
  • Master of Criminal Justice
  • Master of Education, Curriculum and Instruction
  • Master of Education, Education Administration
  • Master of Public Administration
  • Master of Science, Applied Psychology
  • Master of Science, Clinical Mental Health Counseling
  • Master of Science, Medical Laboratory Science
  • Master of Science, Nursing
  • Master of Social Work 

NOTE: the Master of Science in Management and Leadership and Master of Education in Counseling programs are being phased out and will no longer admit students effective Fall 2016.

Courses are also offered in the areas of Mathematics, Political Science, Criminal Justice, Nursing, Biology, English, History, and Fine Arts. These courses support concentrations in Public Administration and Health Care Administration for the MBA, concentrations in the General Studies Degree, and concentrations in the Secondary Education option of the M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction.

Undergraduate programs include:

  • Bachelor of Arts, Communication Studies
  • Bachelor of Applied Arts and Sciences, Business
  • Bachelor of Applied Arts and Sciences, Criminal Justice Administration
  • Bachelor of Applied Arts and Sciences, Information Technology
  • Bachelor of Applied Arts and Sciences, Manufacturing and Industrial Management
  • Bachelor of Applied Technology, Health Professions Technology
  • Bachelor of Business Administration, Accounting
  • Bachelor of Business Administration, Computer Information Systems
  • Bachelor of Business Administration, General Business
  • Bachelor of Business Administration, Human Resource Management
  • Bachelor of Business Administration, Management
  • Bachelor of Business Administration, Marketing
  • Bachelor of Science in Applied Science, Business Administration
  • Bachelor of Science, Communication Studies
  • Bachelor of Science, Criminal Justice
  • Bachelor of Science, Interdisciplinary Studies, Child and Family Studies
  • Bachelor of Science, Interdisciplinary Studies, Teacher Education -- Early Childhood – Grade 6 Generalist  with ESL, Bilingual with ESL, 4-8 Mathematics, 4-8 Language Arts/Social Studies, and All Level Special Education
  • Bachelor of Science, General Studies
  • Bachelor of Science, Kinesiology (Pending approvals of the Texas A&M University System and Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board)
  • Bachelor of Science, Medical Laboratory Science
  • Bachelor of Science, Nursing (RN to BSN)
  • Bachelor of Science, Psychology
  • Bachelor of Social Work
  • Associate of Applied Science, Histotechnology
  • Associate of Applied Science, Medical Laboratory Technology

Certification programs include:

  • Superintendent Certification
  • TMATE – Alternative Teacher Certification
  • Principal Certification
  • Certificate of Organizational Communication
  • Certificate of Computer-Mediated-Communication
  • Clinical Laboratory Science/Medical Technology Certification
  • Histotechnology – Advanced Technical Certificate
  • Medical Laboratory Technology – Advanced Technical Certificate
  • Molecular Diagnostics

Additional information about any of these programs or teaching locations may be obtained by visiting

Tarleton State University- Fort Worth
6777 Camp Bowie Boulevard Suite 201
or by calling (817) 732-7300 or visiting on the web at www.tarleton.edu/fortworth

Admission to one of the Fort Worth undergraduate programs requires a minimum of 30 credit hours and that a student be TSI complete. Applicants to an undergraduate program must meet the transfer admission standards for Tarleton State University. On site academic support services include advising, tutoring, and proctored testing.

Dr. Rusty Freed, Associate Vice President-Outreach and Off-Campus Programs
Tarleton State University
Room 212 Administration Building-Stephenville
Suite 201, Hickman Building- Fort Worth
Fort Worth, Texas 76116

Dr. Philip D. Sudman, Executive Director
Tarleton State University-Fort Worth
Suite 201, Hickman Building
Fort Worth, Texas 76116
(817) 484-4229